Location: 827 Chetwynd Road, Armour Township
Hours of Operation:
Open Saturdays by Chance.
October to May - Closed for the Season.
A suggested donation of $2/person or $10/family.
Visit the Watt Century Farmhouse and take a step back in time. Filled with local stories and historical artifacts, the Watt Century Farmhouse is rich with history.
John Russell Watt was born to Alexander and Euphemia (Gibson) Watt on March 14, 1856, in Lanark County. In 1874, he came to Armour Township and settled on Lots 10 and 11, Concession 7, at Watt’s Dam near the Magnetawan River. This property was obtained through free grants during Queen Victoria’s reign in 1878.
On February 23, 1881, John married Mary Marshall (born May 6, 1853). The couple had three children: James Alexander, Richard Paul (“Dick”) and Annie Jane.
During 1889, the Watt family moved to Lot 13 Concession 6 and 7 in Armour Township where the couple had four more children: Mary Caroline “Carrie,” Euphemia Gibson “Pheme.” Margaret Emily and John Edgar Cameron “Jack.” A barn was built in 1892, followed by the home in 1902. Mary passed away on July 2, 1931, followed by John on May 7, 1946.
After the passing of Mary and John, their son Jack took over the farm. He married Pearl Jordon on November 27, 1937. The couple had three children: Richard (“Dick"), William (“Bill”), and Karen. Jack passed away on January 30, 1973, followed by Pearl on April 8, 2008.
The property was purchased in May 2012 by Northland Power as the site for the company's Solar East project. After seeing the historical value of the house, Northland Power entered into an agreement with the Burk’s Falls and District Historical Society.
Today, the Watt Century Farmhouse is the second heritage centre of the Burk’s Falls and District Historical Society. It was officially opened at the society’s Heritage Day on July 25, 2015.